17 Monthsish/Christmas Fun

As always, I’m behind since she’s more like 17.75 months! We’ve been having a lot of fun around here lately. The months fly by too fast, and I fear before I know it my baby will be two and that is a very overwhelming thought! The upside is that she makes the dreary fall and winter go by faster!

This 17thmonthish post is mainly dedicated to Christmas because there are so many things that were so entertaining because of her this year! She really keeps me smiling, and I can see how if she was even a month or two younger things might be different!

Christmas morning when she came down stairs she immediately went to her sing a ma jig & gave her a kiss (I really think these things are so cute, but perhaps that feeling will end when my child can play with them herself).  Then we unwrapped a few gifts, but before she got into helping unwrap, she really wanted to play with the gifts! She was very insistent on me completely opening up her mega bloks (from us) play food and Little People Noah’s Ark (from Nan and GP). There was several awkward unwrapped items (I lost steam around 10 on Christmas eve…) and she wanted to play with all of those as well. I was tempted to make her unwrap all the presents, but we decided she’s happy and having fun- we can finish the rest later! We unwrapped a few during our “blizzard” and power outage, but we still have about 4 left to unwrap! (Yes, I probably DID go overboard… but she also just had a lot of small gifts!). I’m glad I didn’t rush the process, because she obviously has a better understanding today then she did on Christmas.– On the 26th, when the power was out, I said “do you want to open presents?” and she ran right to the tree! Then yesterday she was (frustratedly!) wanting to unwrap those last four. I said we had to wait for Daddy, which she wasn’t thrilled about…then of course we had plans so they are still there today.. I’m hoping she wont notice till he gets home! Anyway, it’s cool to see how she “learned” the process over the last few days.

Non Christmas story- She is beginning to recognize letters! No, she’s not a Mensa, but she will see letters (her name on the wall, magnet letters on the fridge, in a book, etc) and she will say “A B  C”. She definitely understands the association, even if she doesn’t yet know which one is which!

Back to the post Christmas fun- When she plays with her little people, she talks a lot of jibberish to them, and then every now and then I hear throw in “no-no”  a LOT. I get the feeling that’s how she hears me most of the day– jibberish, jibberish, “NO NO”… LOL. It’s super cute. And she can entertain herself for quite awhile (hence how I am typing this, LOL!)

She got her first dolly, whom she loves and was VERY happy when she opened it. She immediately patted it’s back and fed it a bottle. SO CUTE.  Sometimes she sort of WWF style “lays” it down to then give it a bottle…. I think we will need to continue to learn about gentleness!

She got several puppets, and it is SO adorable when she puts (well, when she gets me to put) the puppets on her own hands, she seems to not realize she is controling them… she says “hi.hi.hiHI” to the puppet. My favorite though is her Grover puppet that Daddy picked out. She thinks he is Elmo, which is cute enough- but the way she says Elmo is “Melmo” which is freaking adorable!!

She’s also started declaring herself and others “silly”. She uses it appropriately too- goes to show I must say she’s silly a lot- she certainly seems to know what it means!!!

She did so well with few naps and crazy schedules including a whirlwind trip to Maryland and WV. We are still in recovery mode now- especially since we had a blizzard!

Oh my goodness I just can’t get this post published! Here’s a link to pictures so i finally can just hit  post and try to get back into the swing! I started this like 3 weeks ago, so i think it’s never going to happen if I wait to do it with pictures too!

more pictures (17 Months)

Leave a Reply

