Genius Idea for Marriage

I know you all are going to be super impressed by this post.

So, we’ve lived in our house for about 3 years now. Since we have moved here, I have had these lovely little spoon rest thingys that I *love* to leave tea bags and spoons on. They cause many “problems”.

One problem is that my poor husband is always wanting to throw out my (admittedly disgusting looking) tea bags away, whilst I’m always swearing that I will re-use them! I’m not that cheap- i just like my tea very weak and therefor reusing a tea bag makes sense. Okay, it’s gross. But I’m still going to do it. This has not been as much of a problem. My lovely husband adapted and pretty much leaves my (ugly) tea bags alone.

My lovely, amazing husband has completely taken over dish duty. We discovered that this has worked out very well for the happiness meter in both of our lives. Except for one thing. Oh this problem is a DOOZY. You know how there are those little things in life that just drive.you.CRAZY? This has been my looney toons thing for THREE YEARS. And I have figured out how to solve it. You should all be so proud of me. I solved a problem that comes up, at least 2-4 x per week (depending on how good we are about the dishwasher) for THREE years.

My husband, always, ALWAYS puts the teaspoon rests away in the wrong place. ALWAYS. For three years, these little guys have always lived in the cabinet farthest right in our kitchen. And for THREE YEARS (!!!) He has always put them in the cabinet NEXT to the one they go in.

This makes me bananas every.single.time.

{thought as I’m huffing and puffing at all the “work” of moving 4 small things to the cabinet RIGHT next store, not across our “huge” kitchen}

“Why can’t he just remember where they go? They’ve been in the same spot for three years!! ARGH. This is SO ANNOYING.”

This morning though, as i searched for my teaspoon rests and they were, again, not where “they go”, I had a revelation.

Why not, make the spot where they go, where HE puts them?

DING DING DING.

This is GENIUS. Especially since, he does all the dishes now anyway! WHY DOES IT MATTER?
Even as I’m typing this, i’m laughing at the ridiculousness of it all. How did I let this bother me for 3 years? How did I not figure this out?

God bless my husband, because the worst thing I put up with is spoon rests in the wrong place. He puts up with a WHOLE host of neuroses, the least of which is me freaking out about where the spoon rests go and leaving my gross tea bags out on the counter.

I love you honey.

5 responses to “Genius Idea for Marriage

  1. I love your selfless attitude in marriage. I know you aren’t perfect but you are an inspiration for me.

  2. I will warn you, I laughed the entire time I read this post because this has also happened in our house. I am slightly neurotic about “where things go” around here, especially in the kitchen for some reason. For a fairly long time I put a group of very small tupperware containers in a specific cabinet, seperate from the other tupperware. Whenever C would put away the dishes they would always end up in the tupperware cabinet. I finally gave in and realized his way probably made more sense anyways and I was just being stubborn. Lo and behold not a week after I “gave in” (not mentioning to him of course that I had given in because he clearly never knew I thought they went anywhere else anyways) he started putting them somewhere else! Can’t wait to see where your spoon rests will be living next πŸ™‚

  3. I know lots of people who re-use tea bags! Your cousin (to whom I’m married) is the king of dishwashing in our house, and I’ve learned to deal with “improperly folded” laundry when he does it, because he gets it done. Just today I had to remind someone to say “thank you Dad for making my sandwich” even though he unknowingly used the low-fat peanut butter (gasp!). Good idea to make a home for your spoon rests and tell B where they go – I bet you’ll always be able to find them now.

Leave a Reply

