22 Months!

So I haven’t blogged since March. I’m a slacker. I have my reasons though- another post, another day. Hopefully that day is tomorrow. πŸ™‚

anyway, for now I’d like to catch you up on my amazing 22 month old.Β  because I’ve already missed out on chronicling so much…I’d hate for July to get here and be posting an update on her 2nd birthday! (eep!) I need to at least TRY to chronicle on the in between!

She has more and more sentences/complete thoughts. “‘ank you, mommy”, “trains are loud” (complete with a little scowl),Β  “no poops, toots” (makes me giggle every time…) She is very concerned about items being broken, often declaring them broken if they are turned off, or not working correctly in her opinion.

just love her face in this one! πŸ™‚

While a few months ago many things seemed to make her jump, run away, and hide with mommy,Β  she has seemed to have grown out of that a bit, YAY!

She had her first haircut around 21 months. There wasn’t much of a difference, except her hair sort of “lays” better now. The bath continues to get easier and easier. Somedays she even seems to request it!! yay!

She definitely knows many colors now, and recognizes every capital letter (though she still sings her “ABCDFGPQRS…” She can count to at least 10 and recognizes 0-9 (thanks melissa and doug!)

Sometimes she makes her stuffed animals talk to her the way that I make them talk to her: She’ll put them on her leg and make them say “hi C!” Which is just oh.so.adorable. πŸ™‚

It’s hard to determine some of these things since she is still learning how to answer questions. If I say, do you want Peanut Butter or Grilled Cheese, she will just repeat what I said! Makes it hard to know what she wants to eat! πŸ™‚ That said…

Current Favorites:

  • Song(s): still FrΓ¨re Jacques, perhaps tied with “e i e i o” and “Happy KNOW? clap ?”
  • Food: fruit! “lemon?” (watermelon), “Stahbees” (strawberries), “mana” (banana)…to name a few. Girlfriend would live on fruit alone. Some days, she does! (though she’s recently taken a turn for the better and has started eating again. Yay!)
  • To Do:Β  definitely playing outside! “swingslide?” is a frequent request around here since our swingset was delivered. She also LOVES bubbles, though she cannot blow them herself yet!Β 
  • Indoor Playtime: She loves books, tutus, cars, trains, foam bath letters…putting things in and out of something, wearing my purse, pushing the stroller…basically everything a normal almost two year old loves. But to me, it’s all precious and adorable. πŸ™‚ She’s very aware of associations. What I mean is, she will put somethnig together, in her mind, at least, that it is part of a “set”. (like 4 cars that we purchased at once). Then, she will be very distressed if all 4 cars are not together at any given time. She will look at me expectantly to explain where the missing item is. Sometimes this can be quite a challenge- I’ve learned it’s often easier to bring NO cars, rather than one! This also makes for a great activity for her, though. Moving all the cars from the floor to the couch. Then back to the floor. Then to the ottoman…repeat, etc. πŸ™‚

Well, i think this post is long and disjointed enough at this point! More later, I promise. πŸ™‚ Since it’s 630 and i still hear no stirring from the little one, perhaps I’ll start blog post #2! πŸ™‚

One response to “22 Months!

  1. I love the new pictures!!! She gets cuter every day! The association thing is funny- sounds like that’s a bit of B? πŸ™‚

    And I, of course, love the dog shirt.

Leave a Reply

