I never thought I’d have a December Baby…

Still here 🙂

41 Weeks, 2 Days

If you know me at all, you probably have heard me whine about December birthdays. While it obviously isn’t AS big of a deal as an adult, I still have 18 years of trauma to complain about… 🙂

All my life I swore I would NEVER have a December baby.

Well, God sure is funny! He decided to show me how important silly little things like that are… Cause here it is, December 1 and I’m STILL PREGNANT! 🙂

I’ve had testing done for the last week or so and I am so very thankful that the baby continues to be healthy! (there are concerns about the health of your placenta/the baby when you go past 40/41 weeks) He also doesn’t *seem* to be huge- but ultrasound technology can be off, so I’m not holding my breath for a tiny baby either 🙂

Most people are shocked to hear that I am still pregnant, because in our current culture it is common to be electively induced even before 40 weeks. But 40 weeks is not an exact science.. due dates can (and often are) off. For example, with my pregnancy with C, my due date wouldve been a full two weeks earlier than when I was actually due, if I had not known my cycle well.  Based on my experiences,  I chose providers that would allow me to go as late as the baby wanted to come. (I’m not judging anyone, please don’t read me wrong!)

However, I never imagined that the second time around he would decide to come SO LATE!  Nor did i anticipate how tired I would be 🙂 C was technically born at 39 weeks, 4 days. I thought for sure I would go earlier with this one than i did with her! So I really set myself up for disappointment! I found myself in tears a WEEK ago because I couldn’t get induced at 40 weeks 5 days. Since then I’ve gotten (some!) perspective back… I wasn’t even late yet! 41 weeks is when you technically are post dates. And here I sit at 41.3!

I’d like to take this moment to apologize mentally to all the women who were 40 weeks and got induced for post dates at my old job and I would mentally think, “you’re not even post dates yet!” To watch your due date come and go is pretty disheartening. Every day I walked by our calendar in the kitchen and saw it mocking me… I’m glad to move on to december where I wont have to see “baby boy due date” laughing at me any more 😉

bye bye november!

And other than extreme insomnia, hot flashes and very little patience, I’m actually doing pretty well at 41.3. I can’t wait to meet our little guy, and now we will share our birthday month! and I can’t wait. December will be even more awesome now 🙂

Leave a Reply

