{December}

So as you might imagine, December has been very busy! After D’s birth, the parade of the grandparents began.  It included my mom, my dad and step-mom, and my in laws (that’s all the grandparents, for those who are counting!) We thoroughly enjoyed everyone visiting!  C especially loved having all the extra entertainers around. 🙂 I was going to post some pictures of her with the grandparents but B seems to have moved some things around on the laptop and I can’t find them! 🙂

The week we had “off” from grandparents  & B was home from work also happened to be the week before my birthday. I told B what I really wanted was for him to do something with C for me. Have her pick out a card or something like that. So one day he told her they were going to do a surprise for mommy. Only trouble is… a two year old isn’t very trust worthy! So we celebrated a few days early so she wouldn’t ruin the surprise! They picked out a card together and an ice cream cake- completed with thomas the train candles-so I know that C helped pick it all out. 🙂 I cried when he brought her home and she was saying “Surprise! Happy Birfday Momma” over and over. 🙂 It was exactly what I wanted. (Plus earlier in the week I had found a groupon for a spa day so he picked that up as well! Happy Birthday to ME!:))

My Ice Cream Cake!

She STILL talks about my birthday. She’s pretty much obsessed with Birthdays. She talks about a friend’s party we attended in November, and she has now learned her birthday is in “Juhwhy”. Sometimes she says “I can’t yike Juhwhy”. I think she says that because it isn’t currently July!

Not so much fun- We’ve all had colds. And either food poisioning or a mild stomach bug(Mild in comparison to last years, anyway. If we get that again I will CRY)- just what you need with a 2 week old! Fortunately my mom came down and gave us a hand when we were dealing with that!

Christmas Eve!

and, um, did you realize that CHRISTMAS occurred in the last month? Because I basically didn’t. Between giving birth and the flurry of visitors rotating in and out, any time I went anywhere and someone wished me a Merry Christmas I was always like “Oh yeah, right! Merry Christmas!”  I definitely feel like I missed out on the holiday season a bit this year. I just wasn’t WITH it enough to enjoy it fully. That said, the things we did get to I did thoroughly enjoy, Christmas is so fun with a 2 year old! I can’t wait for all the excitement Christmas with Two (two bigger kids) will be like! 🙂

Opening Christmas Eve Jammies!

One thing we managed to enjoy was taking a ride on the Polar Express! A local train place has carnival type rides and light displays along with a train ride. We chose to partake in the special Polar Express ride, where Liam Neisen (okay, just his recorded voice…) reads the story of the polar express over loud speaker. The train takes you through all these light displays which was really neat! Santa came through the train and gave all the kids a sleigh bell. It was very special to see C get so excited. I cried. (Hormones!)

Super Excited for the Polar Express!

I declared myself super mom after nursing D on the train (where it was basically pitch black). He was not so impressed with the outing 🙂

Not So Excited to go on the Polar Express...

On the Carousel (Note D in the Carrier...he's the football head)

With Nan & GP!

She rode two rides, & really enjoyed them, but it was freezing and we were all ready to get home… Next year we will be better prepared. Warmer clothes, a stroller… Of course, C was having a “mood” that night and only Daddy could carry her. (probably related to the fact that I was wearing D in my carrier…). Hopefully she wont still be jealous for next year’s ride!

Christmas was crazy. She tore through presents and was totally spoiled! She is always looking for “somefin for C?” whenever anyone comes over! We need to teach this girl to have a giving spirit, STAT! She didn’t even get to see her big gift -a train table, trains, and a new area to play in our basement- until the 26th because she was so excited about all her new cars and other gifts.  However, she does LOVE her new basement and asks to go down there all the time now. It’s pretty cute. And she will entertain herself down there for awhile, score! Baby Brother got mostly functional gifts this year. I was hoping having a few gifts under the tree would help C know it wasn’t all about her, but It didnt seem to work!

Enjoying one of his "real" gifts! (A bit blurry, but I love his face!)

I love love love baby clothes with something on the bum!

We really enjoyed our first Christmas as a family of four (and even more fun having B’s parents here with us!)

So this was pretty exciting. On Christmas, when we were at my Aunt’s house, C asked to hold D. And then she actually did! Unfortunately neither of them seemed to enjoy it based on the pictures! She’s getting more and more into her big sister role, though!

She will come into the room and say “Hi Babe!” which is so cute. And she still always needs to know where he is and what he’s doing. She’s semi reliable to tell me if he’s sleeping in the van. And tonight was so sweet, she rocked him in his Rock N Play and sang “rock a by baby”. (I actually don’t want her to touch the rock and play… but it was so darn cute!)

Speaking of that moment, I’m going to try and do a 365 photo challenge. I usually do take a photo a day, but i want to get better with my dSLR and not just rely on B all the time. So I’m committing to shooting in manual at least once a day this year. I probably wont post the pictures every day, but as i get a chance I will upload a few at a time. Today I was trying to get a picture of D in his “My first New Year’s” onesie, and C decided to “help”. When she came over to be in the picture I got some great shots. Unfortunately our house has really lousy lighting and I had to shoot @ 1600 ISO at a low f-stop, so a lot of my pictures came out blurry because the depth of field was so little. But I captured a moment I loved which is great and definitely part of the reason to do this! And hopefully by the end of the year i will be better at catching the moment AND the technical stuff. here’s day 1.

{PS I hate when people start these photo a day deals and don’t finish them. I am posting that fact in the name of accountability. I need to commit and follow through!}

This has obviously been edited, but I will post the original underneath just for the sake of documenting improvement in photography.

365.1

365.1 Original

Phew! I feel exhausted after just typing all of that.. no wonder I’m so tired and out of it these days–we’ve been busy! I’m sure there was more to post that I missed but I just can’t get it all in… these kids are keeping me busy and tired! I can’t remember if there is more, and even if I could, I need to stop writing and get to bed… at this point I’m not even sure this post made much sense!!! Yawn.

Can you believe it’s already been a month since D was born!? (well, tomorrow makes a month). Hopefully he will get a monthly update post sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

